I’ll Come Find You If You Do

Day 21
Poem 20

Today’s NaPoWriMo post was about using something overheard. On April 1st, as I was sitting outside to write my first poem of the month, I wrote down something I overheard. There were a few kids breaking glass bottles on the playground, and as a couple walked by the man told them not to because younger kids might get hurt. His last words to them were “I’ll come find you if you do.”

I may write more with that sentence, but for now, a love poem.

I’ll Come Find You If You Do

I will wait for years, going old and frail, while somewhere
across the world you do the same, and I will wait for you
to call my name. I’ll come find you if you do.

I will consult with broken bottles, shards of glass,
I will ask the birds. I won’t forget that I gave you
my word. I’ll come find you if you do.

Leaving doesn’t mean forever. When you’re far away
from this place, if you’re broken or frightened or only
miss my face, I’ll come find you if you do.

I’ll be right here unless you need me right there
beside you, you have my pledge. You may stumble
on the edge but fight through, love. I’ll come
find you if you do.

Leave a Reply

