Education

Day 15
Poem 13

Today, I was part of an amazing panel at the Split This Rock Poetry Festival. We talked about a lot of feminist issues, and our discussion inspired the two poems I wrote today.

Education
 
I have a Bachelor’s in quiet.
I aced all the classes:
sitting still, not speaking,
fading away.
I even passed silent resentment
and passive aggression.
I stopped singing.
I got As based solely
on the words I left
behind on paper.
 
I have a Master’s in louder.
No yelling, no singing, but speaking my mind, answering questions
and asking, daring to be wrong. I taught my hands
to talk without a pen in them. There are still so many nights
like this, the door barred to keep me alone, but my days
are unafraid. I wrote with elbows out today.
I recite this poem aloud.

Leave a Reply

