Flag This Comment

Day 9
Poem 8

Today’s prompt was to write something you’re afraid to say. After some back and forth, I decided on this. I admit that I have developed something of a fascination with online comment sections. I admit that I’m afraid.

Flag This Comment

I confess that I can’t read an article on injustice
without the comments too. I walk eager
among the faceless, guard up, waiting
for them to pull me down. Provoke me,
tell me I belong in the kitchen
or in hell, how all victims are thugs and survivors
liars and how things were better when we all
knew our place. I fume, pitch long arguments
as if I’ll change minds already set, shame
the shameless.

I confess that yesterday
I passed a truck plastered in comments,
two men in love juxtaposed with burning
towers, condemning us all to hell. I had nothing
to say, no anger, no anecdotes. Just hurried past,
spent all day with quiet fear roiling bitter
in the depths of me.

One thought on “Flag This Comment

Leave a Reply

