Dear Britney

Day 3
Poem 3

Today’s NaPoWriMo prompt was to write a fan letter. I have never been able to write a satisfying poem about Britney Spears, who was the celebrity for me, so I thought I’d give it another shot. There are references to Crossroads and a few of Britney’s videos, as well as Empress of the World by Sara Ryan, which was the first lesbian love story I ever encountered.

If you want to read more about my complicated relationship with Britney, you can check out my essay that was published by The Rumpus last year.

Dear Britney

I want to place my hands on the warm curve
of your scalp, the finest new hairs tickling
at my palms. I read somewhere that love
is like that. Not string bikinis or sweat
or someone pinning your hands above your head
and slowly bringing them down and you waking
the next day in his shirt. That’s not
what you are to me. All I want is to be the girl
who sits next to you when you take off your smile.
I want to listen, waiting for the familiar catch
in your voice. You can show me your tattoos
if you like, or your scars, or you can keep
your secrets covered safe. I will say nothing,
just wait.

2 thoughts on “Dear Britney

Leave a Reply

